Home SCHOOL NEWS University of Uyo Creates New Departments – Check here.

University of Uyo Creates New Departments – Check here.


New Departments in UNIUYO – The University of Uyo has created new departments in some faculties, with the aim of bringing more programmes to the institution. Check the newly established departments below.

New Departments in UNIUYO

New Departments in UNIUYO

  • The University of Uyo has established a new Department of MEDICAL BIOCHEMISTRY in the Faculty of Basic Medical Science, with Dr. Anthony F. Uwah, BSc, MBBCh, MSc, PhD as Pioneer Head of Department.

    It was stated that, more new programmes are coming on board next session, namely:
  • Dentistry
  • Nursing Science
  • Medical Laboratory Science
  • Radiography
  • Physiotherapy

    The College of Health Sciences keeps expanding with greater academic and professional opportunities.
    Thanks to the performing Vice Chancellor, Prof. Enefiok Essien, SAN.

About University of Uyo (UNIUYO)

The University of Uyo (UNIUYO) is located in Uyo, capital of Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.

The university was formerly known as the University of Cross River State (UNICROSS). On October 1, 1991 the federal government of Nigeria established it as a federal university and the name was changed to the University of Uyo. The university inherited students, staff, academic programmes and the entire facilities of the erstwhile University of Cross River State established by Cross River State in 1983. Academic activities commenced during the 1991/92 academic session.

UNIUYO has 12 faculties,the postgraduate school and the school of continuing Education.

If this information was helpful, you can share with your family and friends. Please share it on Twitter, Facebook, G+, Whatsapp or Email it to friends. Use the buttons below to do this.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here